The Visegrad Group Commemorates 33 Years of Its Existence

Today, the Visegrad Group (V4 countries) is commemorating the thirty-third anniversary of the formation of the group. The cornerstone of this cooperation—the Visegrad Declaration—was signed by the presidents of Czechoslovakia, Hungary, and Poland on February 15, 1991. 


“We have been fulfilling the group’s goals—to build democracy, develop cross-border civil society and generally contacts between people in the region, and support the countries’ active membership in the European Union,” confirms Petr Mareš, Executive Director of the International Visegrad Fund, to date the only solid organization of the cooperation.


Currently, the group is chaired by the Czechia. The presidency will be taken over by Poland on July 1, 2024.